The Editorial Board of the Philippine Law Journal is currently composed of ten students of the University of the Philippines College of Law.

In its early years, members of the PLJ’s editorial board were selected based on academic performance. The board composition varied according to the needs of the editorial board in a particular academic year. At that time, there was no chairperson. The position was created only in 1935, with Enrique Fernando being appointed as chairperson.

Today, the members are selected on the basis of competitive writing and editing examinations and academic qualifications. The editorial board is composed of ten members, particularly a chair, vice-chair, and eight editors. The students who rank first and second in the examinations serve as the chair and vice-chair, respectively.

Past chairpersons and editors of the PLJ have become luminaries in their respective fields. Some have served in the Philippine government, including members of the Cabinet, the Senate, the House of Representatives, the Supreme Court, and the lower courts. Other PLJ alumni have excelled in private practice, establishing institutional law firms or serving as managing and senior partners of prominent firms. Distinguished members of the academe have also been part of the PLJ.